Preference of CefRegisterExtension over CreateFunction()

Having problems with building or using CEF's C/C++ APIs? This forum is here to help. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.

Preference of CefRegisterExtension over CreateFunction()

Postby swtsvn » Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:31 am

Hi all,
I am new to Cef and JS. Can anyone kindly point me towards why one would use one method over the other ?
In CefRegisterExtension method() , the JS is provided as a string, It is called from render thread, and is not advisable to call bulky native functions.
In CreateFunction() method as well, it has to be called from render thread in OnContextCreated(), and is not advisable to handle bulky native functions.
Both can handle callbacks to JS functions.

I am not sure what they mean by complex extensions using CefRegisterExtensions in https://bitbucket.org/chromiumembedded/ ... ow-binding.

Can anyone throw light on when or why one method could be preferred over another. ?
swtsvn
Techie

Re: Preference of CefRegisterExtension over CreateFunction()

Postby swtsvn » Tue Apr 28, 2015 10:43 am

Anyone ?
swtsvn
Techie

Postby Cherno » Wed Apr 29, 2015 1:18 am

I use an extension to register an object with native callbacks towards the c++ layer (that I always want to be in the browsers).
When I need a function on a non permanent basis, then I use a create function.

Both require communication across processes (render -> UI), so get used to call from js in async way (with success / fail callbacks back to js)

C.
Cherno
Techie

Postby swtsvn » Thu Apr 30, 2015 2:46 pm

Thanks Cherno,

Do you mean, everytime a new browser/tab (CefBrowserHost::CreateBrowser) is created, it would call OnContextCreated(), and attach the functions to the window of the browser, thereby using more twice the memory for those functions, if there are two browsers in total?