Setting the “Protected content” setting

Having problems with building or using CEF's C/C++ APIs? This forum is here to help. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.

Setting the “Protected content” setting

Postby cas4 » Mon Jun 13, 2016 9:41 pm

When watching videos from XFinity (http://xfinitytv.comcast.net/watch-live-tv/) inside the Chrome browser, the videos will only play when the "Allow identifiers for protected content" setting is checked (Settings -> Content settings... -> Protected content). I've created a simple c# winforms app with a cefsharp browser control. When I navigate to the video URL, I receive the same error as when the "Allow identifiers for protected content" setting is unchecked in Chrome. Is there a command-line argument or some other way in CEF to set this setting? I can't find any documentation related to this setting anywhere. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
cas4
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 9:37 pm

Re: Setting the “Protected content” setting

Postby magreenblatt » Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:52 am

It depends on what DRM system and video codecs they're using. If they're using Widevine then you can pass the `--enable-widevine-cdm` command-line flag. If they're using proprietary codecs then you'll need to build CEF/Chromium from source code yourself to enable them.
magreenblatt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12382
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 6:57 pm

Re: Setting the “Protected content” setting

Postby cas4 » Thu Jun 16, 2016 11:35 am

I tried setting the '-enable-widevine-cdm' flag, but no luck. I don't think it's a codec issue, unless XFinity uses different codecs for different stations. For example, ESPN (http://tvgo.xfinity.com/live/network/es ... ivetv_espn) plays just fine, but HGTV (http://tvgo.xfinity.com/live/network/hg ... ivetv_hgtv) does not. Is there a way to determine what Chrome's "Protected content" setting actually does and how it might translate to CEF? From everything I read about the Flash error code and from my testing in the Chrome browser, that is the setting I need to replicate in CEF.

Thanks.
cas4
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 9:37 pm

Re: Setting the “Protected content” setting

Postby magreenblatt » Thu Jun 16, 2016 12:31 pm

It's possible that different stations require different DRM. As stated above CEF only supports Widevine (should be `--enable-widevine-cdm`, note the 2 slashes) and does not ship with proprietary media codecs. You can search the Chromium source code here: https://cs.chromium.org/.
magreenblatt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12382
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 6:57 pm

Re: Setting the “Protected content” setting

Postby cas4 » Thu Jun 16, 2016 1:09 pm

How can you determine which codec the flash player is using when playing a video?
cas4
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 9:37 pm

Re: Setting the “Protected content” setting

Postby magreenblatt » Thu Jun 16, 2016 1:24 pm

cas4 wrote:How can you determine which codec the flash player is using when playing a video?

If the video is played via Flash then it wouldn't depend on CEF for codec support. Are you specifying a `--cache-path` value?
magreenblatt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12382
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 6:57 pm

Re: Setting the “Protected content” setting

Postby cas4 » Fri Jun 17, 2016 3:55 pm

I'm using cefsharp so I think so. I'm setting the CefSettings.CachePath property along with the PersistSessionCookies setting.
Code: Select all
var settings = new CefSharp.CefSettings();
settings.CefCommandLineArgs.Add("--enable-widevine-cdm", "1");
settings.CachePath = System.IO.Path.Combine(Application.StartupPath, "Cache");
settings.PersistSessionCookies = true;
CefSharp.Cef.Initialize(settings, false, true);
cas4
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 9:37 pm

Re: Setting the “Protected content” setting

Postby magreenblatt » Mon Jun 20, 2016 9:59 am

What OS, CEF and Flash versions are you using? How does it behave in the cefclient sample application when you run with `--enable-system-flash --cache-path=c:\path\to\cache`?
magreenblatt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12382
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 6:57 pm

Re: Setting the “Protected content” setting

Postby cas4 » Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:35 pm

OS: Windows 10
CEF version: 51
Flash versions: latest version.

Using the sample application, I logged in and navigated to http://xfinitytv.comcast.net/live/netwo ... ivetv_hgtv. I get the same error. Attached is a screenshot.
Attachments
cef_screenshot.PNG
screenshot of the error
cef_screenshot.PNG (32.58 KiB) Viewed 11838 times
cas4
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 9:37 pm

Re: Setting the “Protected content” setting

Postby visuall » Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:49 am

The same thing happens if you try to play videos from http://view.yahoo.com. Sometimes video will play for 2-3 seconds and the message will be displayed after this. All is set correctly on my side including cache path but still fails. Any ideas ?
visuall
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 7:50 am


Return to Support Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 22 guests