Remote Debugging now shows URLs instead of titles

Having problems with building or using CEF's C/C++ APIs? This forum is here to help. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.

Remote Debugging now shows URLs instead of titles

Postby sbush1310 » Tue Feb 07, 2017 5:06 pm

After upgrading CEF recently, I discovered that the Remote Debugging landing page no longer lists windows by their HTML titles, rather using their URLs. I'm not sure if this was as a result of a change to Chromium or to CEF, but for our purposes, we have a slew of windows that use embedded Windows resource URLs and so the list that used to look like this in prior versions:

"Example Title 1"
"Example Title 2"
"Example Title 3"
"Example Title 4"
... (loads of other windows with descriptive window titles)

are now shown as:
res://myapp/PATH_TO_EXECUTABLE.exe/677
res://myapp/PATH_TO_EXECUTABLE.exe/581
res://myapp/PATH_TO_EXECUTABLE.exe/158
res://myapp/PATH_TO_EXECUTABLE.exe/949
... etc.

which makes debugging more difficult than it used to be. Is there a setting that can be configured to revert the behavior?

(note: in our CEF integration, we have a CefResourceHandler derived "res:" handler that provides the internal html resource loading.)

Thanks!
Steve
sbush1310
Techie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 5:15 pm

Re: Remote Debugging now shows URLs instead of titles

Postby magreenblatt » Tue Feb 07, 2017 7:21 pm

What OS and CEF version? How does it behave in Google Chrome at the same version?
magreenblatt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12409
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 6:57 pm

Re: Remote Debugging now shows URLs instead of titles

Postby sbush1310 » Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:12 pm

magreenblatt wrote:What OS and CEF version? How does it behave in Google Chrome at the same version?


This is on Windows. The current CEF version is 3.2883.1545.gd685d27. The prior version is either 3.2785.1480.g162e9a9 or 3.2623.1401.gb90a3be (I know that I used the remote debugging capability in the 2623 line, and I *think* that I used in it in 2785 but I'm not certain.

I haven't tested via Google chrome explicitly, but will do so tomorrow.
sbush1310
Techie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 5:15 pm


Return to Support Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 41 guests