Unable to build branch 3029 from automate-git.py

Having problems with building or using CEF's C/C++ APIs? This forum is here to help. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.

Unable to build branch 3029 from automate-git.py

Postby pek » Tue Nov 07, 2017 5:17 pm

Hi,

My overall goal is to get CefGlue working in Unity3D. I am aware of the Embedded Browser plugin, but it does not satisfy my requirements, so I am trying to build my own (albeit, a lot simpler).

I was successful in getting the appropriate Cef binaries, building CefGlue from Visual Studio project, and getting some basic functionality running. However, Cef constantly crashes Unity giving a cryptic error message. I decided that I want to be able to debug this, so I need to be able to compile and build Cef.

In a Virtual Machine I setup from scratch, I was able to build the specific branch Electron uses of Chromium. However, I am not as successful with Cef.

Here is what I was able to do so far:

The CefGlue version I'm working on is v3029 which is tied to Cef 3029 branch.

So, I downloaded the latest 'automate-git.py', as per instructed, and ran with '--branch=3029'.

It seems that it correctly checks out everything, but crashes when it is about to build with the error:

Creating C:\chromium\src\chromium\src\out\Debug_GN_x86 directory.
________ running 'gn gen out\Debug_GN_x86' in 'C:\chromium\src\chromium\src'
gn.py: Could not find gn executable at: C:\chromium\src\chromium\src\buildtools\win\gn.exe
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "tools\gclient_hook.py", line 135, in <module>
RunAction(src_dir, cmd)
File "C:\chromium\src\chromium\src\cef\tools\gclient_util.py", line 39, in RunAction
command, cwd=dir, always=True)
File "C:\chromium\src\depot_tools\gclient_utils.py", line 314, in CheckCallAndFilterAndHeader
return CheckCallAndFilter(args, **kwargs)
File "C:\chromium\src\depot_tools\gclient_utils.py", line 560, in CheckCallAndFilter
rv, args, kwargs.get('cwd', None), None, None)
subprocess2.CalledProcessError: Command 'gn gen out\\Debug_GN_x86' returned non-zero exit status 2 in C:\chromium\src\chromium\src
Traceback (most recent call last):
File ".\automate-git.py", line 1048, in <module>
run(path, cef_src_dir, depot_tools_dir)
File ".\automate-git.py", line 55, in run
args, cwd=working_dir, env=env, shell=(sys.platform == 'win32'))
File "C:\Python27\lib\subprocess.py", line 186, in check_call
raise CalledProcessError(retcode, cmd)
subprocess.CalledProcessError: Command '['C:\\chromium\\src\\chromium\\src\\cef\\cef_create_projects.bat']' returned non-zero exit status 1


Indeed, looking into the buildtools\win folder, there is no gn.exe. Only the sh1 hashes.

Luckily I have a copy of the executable in one of the chromium source I was able to successfully build, so I copied it and ran the build again.

This time I get a different error:

Creating C:\chromium\src\chromium\src\out\Debug_GN_x86 directory.
________ running 'gn gen out\Debug_GN_x86' in 'C:\chromium\src\chromium\src'
ERROR at //v8/gni/v8.gni:5:1: Can't load input file.
import("//build/config/jumbo.gni")
^--------------------------------
Unable to load:
C:/chromium/src/chromium/src/build/config/jumbo.gni
I also checked in the secondary tree for:
C:/chromium/src/chromium/src/build/secondary/build/config/jumbo.gni
See //BUILD.gn:21:1: whence it was imported.
import("//v8/gni/v8.gni")
^-----------------------
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "tools\gclient_hook.py", line 135, in <module>
RunAction(src_dir, cmd)
File "C:\chromium\src\chromium\src\cef\tools\gclient_util.py", line 39, in RunAction
command, cwd=dir, always=True)
File "C:\chromium\src\depot_tools\gclient_utils.py", line 314, in CheckCallAndFilterAndHeader
return CheckCallAndFilter(args, **kwargs)
File "C:\chromium\src\depot_tools\gclient_utils.py", line 560, in CheckCallAndFilter
rv, args, kwargs.get('cwd', None), None, None)
subprocess2.CalledProcessError: Command 'gn gen out\\Debug_GN_x86' returned non-zero exit status 1 in C:\chromium\src\chromium\src
Traceback (most recent call last):
File ".\automate-git.py", line 1048, in <module>
run(path, cef_src_dir, depot_tools_dir)
File ".\automate-git.py", line 55, in run
args, cwd=working_dir, env=env, shell=(sys.platform == 'win32'))
File "C:\Python27\lib\subprocess.py", line 186, in check_call
raise CalledProcessError(retcode, cmd)
subprocess.CalledProcessError: Command '['C:\\chromium\\src\\chromium\\src\\cef\\cef_create_projects.bat']' returned non-zero exit status 1


At this point, I am thinking that something was not setup correctly during the automate script, so instead of hacking this together, I would like to get some help.

Or maybe automate-git.py is not even meant to be used this way?

I'm not sure. Your help would be immensely appreciated as I have spent more than a week trying to get this project running correctly.

Thank you.
pek
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:43 pm

Re: Unable to build branch 3029 from automate-git.py

Postby pek » Tue Nov 07, 2017 5:43 pm

I forgot to mention that I am running the latest Windows 10 Education OS. Same OS used for the virtual machines I created.
pek
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:43 pm

Re: Unable to build branch 3029 from automate-git.py

Postby magreenblatt » Tue Nov 07, 2017 5:50 pm

magreenblatt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12409
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 6:57 pm

Re: Unable to build branch 3029 from automate-git.py

Postby pek » Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:30 pm

"Newer legacy branches (within the last few months) can often be built using the same tooling as current branches."

3029 is was released on March 2017, is this not "within the last few months"?

In any case, I will follow the exact steps found here.

Thank you.
pek
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:43 pm


Return to Support Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 91 guests