Building x64 with VS 2017

Having problems with building or using CEF's C/C++ APIs? This forum is here to help. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.

Building x64 with VS 2017

Postby wesselsga » Wed Jan 10, 2018 8:56 am

I followed the steps in the Master Build Quick Start on 3 different machines now using Visual Studio 2017 (15.5.2) trying to build a 64-bit version of CEF. Each time the build is successful. However, when I run either cefclient.exe or cefsimple.exe when it pulls up the Google home page the results are not rendered correctly (sort of seems like no CSS styles are being applied?) I attached an image of cefclient.exe running after the build.

Image

I'm sure it is an operator error on my end - wondering if anyone else has seen this.
wesselsga
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 8:48 am

Re: Building x64 with VS 2017

Postby coder678 » Wed Jan 10, 2018 6:08 pm

Same here.
coder678
Techie
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 10:03 pm

Re: Building x64 with VS 2017

Postby wesselsga » Thu Jan 11, 2018 8:14 am

Here are the options I'm using in update.bat (which resulted in the image above)

Code: Select all
set CEF_USE_GN=1
set GN_DEFINES=use_jumbo_build=true enable_precompiled_headers=false is_official_build=true proprietary_codecs=true ffmpeg_branding=Chrome
set GN_ARGUMENTS=--ide=vs2017 --sln=cef --filters=//cef/*
python ..\automate\automate-git.py --download-dir=c:\code\chromium_git --depot-tools-dir=c:\tools\depot_tools --no-distrib --no-build --branch=3239
wesselsga
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 8:48 am

Re: Building x64 with VS 2017

Postby wesselsga » Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:43 am

Just an update ... I've been able to work around the above issue by simply using the automated build instructions with the following commands:

Code: Select all
set GN_DEFINES=is_official_build=true proprietary_codecs=true ffmpeg_branding=Chrome
python /path/to/automate/automate-git.py --download-dir=/path/to/download --branch=3239 --x64-build --no-debug-build --minimal-distrib
wesselsga
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 8:48 am

Re: Building x64 with VS 2017

Postby scone » Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:27 pm

Nice! I was just having this issue myself. It seems like the jumbo_build is the culprit here?

Did you notice that, as a result, there were a lot more cpp files compiled? I saw the total jump from ~26k to ~31k. My build is still going, but hopefully it solves the same problem for me. Thanks!

Edit: So far Debug/x64 works! :D
scone
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:09 pm

Re: Building x64 with VS 2017

Postby wesselsga » Tue Jan 16, 2018 9:07 am

Agreed. use_jumbo_build=true seems suspicious here. I assume the 'jumbo' option is somehow combining sources? resulting in fewer .cpp files. Just a guess - I haven't taken the time to figure out what it is doing.
wesselsga
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 8:48 am

Re: Building x64 with VS 2017

Postby magreenblatt » Thu Feb 01, 2018 5:38 pm

From the screenshot there appears to be a problem with the generated resource files (*.pak). Did you get any console errors/warnings during the build process? The x86 Debug build works fine for me with the jumbo option set but I haven't tested the x64 build. Using the jumbo option is primarily to decrease build times -- you can read more about it here: https://bugs.chromium.org/p/chromium/is ... ?id=745862
magreenblatt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12382
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 6:57 pm

Re: Building x64 with VS 2017

Postby magreenblatt » Thu Feb 01, 2018 5:48 pm

After seeing viewtopic.php?f=6&t=15701 (which reports the same error with an x86 build) I'm thinking this is more likely a problem with use_jumbo_build=true + proprietary codecs enabled.
magreenblatt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12382
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 6:57 pm


Return to Support Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 35 guests