Page 4 of 4

Re: Programmatically stop the rendering process

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:12 am
by ztcef
Thank you very much, bioncube. The reason I chose TerminateProcess is because I didn't want to rely on the IPC working right. The exit code was indeed the problem.

Re: Programmatically stop the rendering process

PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2012 1:06 am
by keshav
there cant be a infinite js loop, it hangs browsers, and web developers dont do that,

Re: Programmatically stop the rendering process

PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2012 1:07 am
by keshav
there cant be a infinite js loop, it hangs the browser, and web developers dont do that, but you can always suspend a process in its current state.

Re: Programmatically stop the rendering process

PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2012 1:20 am
by bioncube
keshav wrote:there cant be a infinite js loop, it hangs the browser, and web developers dont do that, but you can always suspend a process in its current state.


I am dealing with unpredictable website content. There could be anything. If not infinite loops, then perhaps very poorly written plugins that consume too much CPU.

Suspending a process is possible, but how would that help?

Re: Programmatically stop the rendering process

PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:40 am
by Yukigaru
JRub wrote:I managed killing the renderer process and then execute a new one by loading a request.
However, the first renderer (that will be killed) gets the browser id = 1, the second renderer (executed thanks to request loading) gets the browser id = -1.

How can you kill a render process from that id? It's not global process id, it's just internal identifier. You can't call TerminateProcess with that id.