Using CEF in a Host Application

Having problems with building or using CEF's C/C++ APIs? This forum is here to help. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.

Using CEF in a Host Application

Postby ba88 » Wed Jul 25, 2018 10:37 am

Hello everyone.

I am a developer of audio-processing plugins, and currently interested in using CEF to implement Web-based GUI.
I've been playing around with CEF for almost a week now, and I came across a few issues and dilemmas.
I would really appreciate any form of help/tips/thoughts regarding my progress so far.

First, some limitations of being an audio plugin, that should be taken into consideration:
  • A plugin is a small module, deployed as a dynamic lib. It has no executable and has to be loaded within a context of a host application - a DAW (Digital Audio Workstation).
  • When being shown on screen, the host application supplies the plugin with a window handle. The plugin is expected to handle draw/paint events which are sent to this handle from the host application. (The plugin is still alive and does processing even when the user hides its window).

A note regarding the current plugin infrastructure (might be worth noting):
  • There is a shell module which is created when the first plugin is loaded and destroyed when the host application quits. It is global to all loaded plugins.

Here are the issues that seem pretty crucial to me at the moment: