handling js messages in c++

Having problems with building or using CEF's C/C++ APIs? This forum is here to help. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.

handling js messages in c++

Postby gkellerer » Fri Sep 14, 2018 2:13 am

hi all,

i am new to cef development and got stuck knowing not how to reach my goal. I'd like to build a cef-based application. this application - lets call it Geoclient - should work as a bridge between an old mfc application and a new geo-service (like for e.g. google maps). so the workflow would be:
- user press button in application
- cef-based geoclient wil start and open the web page with the geodata service.
- user can see a given coordinate as point on the card. It is transferd from the geoclient to the webservice as an url parameter.
- now the user can move that point and click on an apply button to send the changed point back to the geoclient application.

and there is my problem. The web service sends a javascript message when i press the apply button and i do not know where to handle or even receive this missage in my geoclient application on the c++ side. i tried a lot by googling, reading the documentation and the wiki but i do not understand where to start.

thanks for your help,
Georg
gkellerer

Re: handling js messages in c++

Postby salvadordf » Fri Sep 14, 2018 7:39 am

Maintainer of the CEF4Delphi, WebView4Delphi, WebUI4Delphi and WebUI4CSharp projects.
salvadordf
Expert

Postby gkellerer » Mon Sep 17, 2018 6:03 am

hello,

thanks for the links. i allready read this documents before posting but i still do not know where to start. Where exactly do i have to start if i want to receive js messages in my client app? is there a simple way to see all message posts that are sent from the website to the browser?
gkellerer

Postby salvadordf » Mon Sep 17, 2018 6:26 am

I can only give you Delphi code so allow me to speak in generic terms.