Linking with /MDd

Having problems with building or using CEF's C/C++ APIs? This forum is here to help. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.

Linking with /MDd

Postby chillitom » Tue Nov 23, 2010 8:59 am

Hi Marshall,

I'm trying to create a CLR wrapper for the Chromium Embedded Framework.

I managed to follow the instructions for building a /MDd version of the libcef_wrapper_dll.lib file however when I try to link my library against this lib I get the following error:

Code: Select all
Error   1   fatal error LNK1318: Unexpected PDB error; OK (0) ''   c:\Projects\Cef\CefSharp\libcef_dll_wrapper.lib   1   CefSharp

The output window shows the following:

Code: Select all
1>Starting pass 2
1>     app.res
1>     Stdafx.obj
1>     CefSharp.obj
1>     AssemblyInfo.obj
1>     libcef.lib(libcef.dll)
1>     libcef_dll_wrapper.lib(transfer_util.obj)
1>libcef_dll_wrapper.lib(transfer_util.obj) : fatal error LNK1318: Unexpected PDB error; OK (0) ''

I'm new to Windows C++ development and not really sure of the linking conventions. Does libcef_wrapper_dll.lib contain transfer_util.obj? If I'm going to be dynamically linking against lib cef shouldn't I have a libcef_wrapper_dll.dll?

I get the same error if I try to compile cefclient but change its flags to /MDd too. Have you ever seen anything similar?

Many thanks, Tom.
chillitom
Techie

Re: Linking with /MDd

Postby chillitom » Tue Nov 23, 2010 11:07 am

.. also is it usual for the cef.sln to cause VS2008 to grind to a complete halt? I've applied all of the listed hot fixes where they apply and it still doesn't appear to cope. Just compiling libcef_wrapper_dll.lib takes me about 10 mins.
chillitom
Techie

Postby magreenblatt » Tue Nov 23, 2010 11:40 am

Does libcef_wrapper_dll.lib contain transfer_util.obj?

Yes.

If I'm going to be dynamically linking against lib cef shouldn't I have a libcef_wrapper_dll.dll?