Transparent window background

Having problems with building or using CEF's C/C++ APIs? This forum is here to help. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.

Transparent window background

Postby gtdomeski » Wed May 02, 2012 10:27 am

I am trying to setup my browser window to be transparent so that it if i load a transparent html page with a transparent background the desktop is visible. I have searched through the forum and found some information regarding this but not enough to actually help me implement it. I am pretty new to CEF. The question I have, is it possible to make a call when creating the browser window using

Code: Select all
CefBroswerHost :: CreateBrowser(/*params*/)

and have that windows background set to transparent. I also understand that the Aero Glass theme should be set as well. Hopefully there is an easier solution then going in and updating webkit to do what I want.

Thanks in advance
gtdomeski
Techie

Re: Transparent window background

Postby magreenblatt » Wed May 02, 2012 2:20 pm

Sounds like you're using Windows. You have a few options:

1. Use off-screen rendering and create/manage drawing and input events yourself. See the "Transparent Off-Screen Rendering Example" example in cefclient.

2. Use Aero Glass effects or layered windows. See the "Transparent Popup Window" example in cefclient.
magreenblatt
Site Admin

Postby gtdomeski » Tue May 08, 2012 9:14 am

magreenblatt wrote:Sounds like you're using Windows. You have a few options:

1. Use off-screen rendering and create/manage drawing and input events yourself. See the "Transparent Off-Screen Rendering Example" example in cefclient.

2. Use Aero Glass effects or layered windows. See the "Transparent Popup Window" example in cefclient.

I can't seem to find the Transparent Popup Window" example in cefclient. Could you tell me where it is located?
gtdomeski
Techie

Postby magreenblatt » Tue May 08, 2012 9:42 am